Executive Committee

The Green Party of Allegheny County elects an executive committee every February to carry out tasks and handle party business between General Assembly meetings. Our current officers are listed below. Feel free to Contact Us with questions, comments, or matters to bring up at our next business meeting.

2020 Executive Committee

Jay Ting Walker


Jay Walker is an activist involved in many Pittsburgh-area issues including environmental and public transit. Jay was a 2018 Green candidate for state representative in the 23rd district, receiving over 2300 votes in the general election. Combined, his activism and electoral work earned him a spot on a 25 young leaders making a difference in Pittsburgh 2018 list published by The Incline. Jay is a delegate to the Green Party of Pennsylvania and serves as a Pennsylvania delegate to the Green Party of the United States national committee.

Garret Wassermann


Garret Wassermann is a mathematician particularly interested in fixing our insecure election machines, gerrymandering, and the need for alternate voting methods like ranked choice and proportional representation to make real democracy. Garret has been involved in several Green campaigns since joining the party in early 2016. Garret also serves as a delegate to both the Green Party of Pennsylvania and as Pennsylvania delegate to the Green Party of the United States national committee.

Kelly Kuzemchak


Mark Brown


Ron Gavalik

Media Coordinator

The eternal search for truth is Ron Gavalik’s lifelong pursuit. An award-winning writer and poet, Gavalik explores the unique perspectives that broaden his readers’ understanding of the world. As Media Coordinator, he distills our core message of civil, economic, and environmental justice for public dissemination to build support for our local party. Gavalik was born in the Pittsburgh area and raised by hard-boiled trade unionists. That background is reflected in his fiery communications style that reminds us democracy is not given by power, but rather taken from power.

Tom Bailey

Working Groups Coordinator

Kathryn Aby-Eva

Neighborhoods Coordinator